Friday, July 9, 2010

World Forestry Center

Last Wednesday we went to World Forestry Center - 1st time for both of us. Part of me when I was deciding what to do was "let's do something interesting and cheap" the other part was "why bother, something easy" . After I read email from BBBS - showing upcoming low cost activities for the month and saw that WFC (Corld Forestry Center) had a "cheap" 1st Wednesday - only $2 bucks, I was sold. Especially my employer was, still is on vacation - leaving early on Wednesday wasn't problem.
I got to Elsa grandmother at 2pm, it was very hot day, temp climb up to 101 in the afternoon. My earlier conversation with my sister come true the minute she got in my car. When I talk to Y. I complained how she always telling me that she didn't eat her lunch, or how hungry she is, how she's wanting this or that. First thing out of her mouth - "I haven't had lunch, I'm hungry, and something cold to drink will be very nice" Mentally rolled my eyes I asked what her preference will be for a cold drink. Immediate answer "Icee" didn't roll well with me. Explaining that Icee has too much sugar and color I offer either Jumbo Juice or Starbucks (I know not healthy either), we got to parking lot and after few minutes going back and forth we decide to get a frappucino from Star and Bucks %)
Which improve her attitude immediately (it was her 1st frap) We got on freeway and off we went, traffic was light and conversation about 4th of July, fireworks, quickly turned into how much she would like to take her friends with her. I have to give her a credit - a girl has a huge heart for other people. After listening her going on and on about it we finally agrees on that she'll ask only one of her friends if he would be interested to go with us to Zoo, and that friend has to get parents permission slip before I'm taking them out. (btw I need to clear that with the office first)
WFC - was awesome, got there without problems, only two bucks per person + $2 for parking. I pull $5 out, Elsa gave me $2. Quick math and I gave the cashier $6 and put $1 bill in my purse. I notice her seeing me doing that, didn't pay much of attention, which later told me I should.
Walking around super quick didn't give us a chance to see much, until she realized that there isn't much and she went rounds and rounds again. I love that place, we spend almost 2 hours there and I'm sure I didn't get chance to see and read everything that there about forest.
Stop by the store with tons of little things and souvenirs, toys, she said that I have her $1 in my purse I look at her and told her no, that not your dollar bill. It's mine, she star arguing saying that it was hers and she saw how I put it in my purse. Great - I thought - taking deep breath I explained, that her mom gave her $2, I give $5, total will be $7 - who's change it will be?
She didn't answer, I don't think she was able to comprehend the transaction, but the subject was dropped. I learned my lesson, I didn't buy her anything, except I paid $4 for pictures that we took together. After the WFC we spend about an hour in traffic, highway 26 and I84 was parking lot. Taking Halsey from 33rd, speed things out a little bit.
Quick stop by the Fairview library and I drop her at home around 6pm. I really enjoyed that outing together. Much better than previous one. Now I'm taking little break, and will call her after 18th. Thinking about OMSI or ZOO.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Monday, June 21, 2010

1st Outing

First time I went out with Elsa was the very next weekend in March, two days after I met her. She decide that we're going to the movie and I wasn't ready to argue, in fact I didn't know how to act or react or what to suggest. And like I mention before Jessa wasn't too happy and she did said something like "we prefer more one on one first outing, and something that doesn't involve spending money"
I took extra few minutes to find their house. To say I was nervous, I don't remember, I might, I had to call the number and ask for directions too. Talk to Jose (Elsa's brother) when I finally figure out my way, (end up driving around their complex few times) Elsa and Jose were waiting for me outside. First question that Jose ask me if I went to college and if I have any education, I was taken back by such a question but honestly replied that yes I went to college and I do have an education. At the same time hoping he wouldn't go for details. They both seems to be satisfied with my answers, 'cause next thing before I knew I'm in my car, driving to the movie theater with a stranger holding a teddy bear to her chest, questioning me about Michael Jackson and Plastic Man, and to be honest I can care less for one and never heard of the second one. It's JC Comics I was informed, and Plastic man some sort of hero, like a batman or spider man. In fact old good Michael was screaming from my stereo, she brought her own CDs. Almost like she cannot trust my choice of music. When we get to the Theater movie already started, and we're late. All because she wants to go to 3D-movie. I don't like the way I'm sound here, keep accusing her of so much, but that how I really felt at that time. Anyways, those of you who saw Alice in the Wonderland (newest version) knew how graphic it is. I mean awesome sound effect, but I'm now so much into all that stuff, so there were a time when I just kept my eyes closed. Oh, and forgot to mention that we used a bathroom at least 2 times. I'd feel comfortable to send her alone, so I decide to tag along. Twice. I don't want to know what people were thinking about us %)
After the movie, I took her home, it was still awkward situation and I'm not a big on discussing movies, so when Elsa asked me what was my favorite part was, I had no idea what to say. Plus the whole movie was done with a Brittan accent. I understood may be a half of all. Agreed to meet next Sunday we part. With very mixed feelings.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

To begin with..

Hi, this is my new blog where I'm going to share my experience with Big Brother Big Sister NW.
January 2010, New Years resolutions run high. Ordinary Wednesday, Mohs Day (see I work I'm a Mohs Tech, and Mohs Day mean I'm to spend good portion of my working day in the lab, more about my work will follow soon). One of my resolutions was to do some volunteering work, shelters, community, food bank, etc... you name it. I didn't really plan on actually do something but I like to think that at least I had it in writing :)
I decide to search some opportunities around PDX area and end up with BBBSNW web site. There were an application to fill out if you interested. Last night I fill one of those and end up taking Hebrew lessons for 8 months %) Well I did it anyways, thinking well some information not going to hurt, obviously people at the headquarters thought differently. Within an hour I got a phone call from.. Mike I think, and before I knew what I'm doing I had an interview scheduled!!!
Meeting with Chris, going through very intense interview, finding people for reference and passing criminal check. Training for BIGs and waiting waiting waiting...
Sometime I did ask myself questions like are you sure you want to do it? But since nothing really comes up as far as a potential match I didn't really worried. Since Chris told me it might take up to 5 months to find somebody. There is 10 Big sisters for 2 little one. And 2 Big brothers for 10 little one.
So when Chris called me in March saying that they found little sister for me needless to say I freak out. BTW, need to mention this was he's second call, 'cause 1st time I turn match down. 15 y.o. was little too old for me. I was very specific under 12 y.o. I'm not ready to deal with teen-drama.
This time it was a girl from Hispanic family, 9 y.o. Very shiny personality, love to sing, dance, oldest in the family of 4, single parent-mom lives with her boyfriend. Dad in Mexico, haven't seen him over 3-4 years. Been matched previously twice, speaks English, and if I'm interested Chris will start the spinning wheels. Well, I didn't have much to say against so I agreed to meet with her, hence that she'll take me :)
Within few days I got confirmation that they indeed would like to meet me. Needless to say I was nervous. Arriving to BBBS office March 11th I didn't know what to expect. To say I was disappointed didn't say anything, this is very strong comment, but I realize that if I'm not honest with myself here, then why bother?
Elsa - was and still is very very something else. (huh, I just saw that else and Elsa spelled very very much alike %) how funny. Anyways, I wasn't impressed at all, I was mad at myself, at organization for doing such a poor match, mad at her (sound horrible) thinking back now I aware that my feelings got in the way big time. But I couldn't help myself. She was bouncing of the wall and in the very bad way, without manners and like somebody with ADD (I still don't know if she had one) Talking to her and never have her looking me in the eye, jumping from one subject to other, not expressing herself clearly, and at the same time just blown me away with some random facts about people, places, things. Latter I found out that she does nothing more than watch TV all the time (Discovery Channel) and knows some information that I'd never ever guess. After brainstorming on our own for an ideas as what we would like to do, we had a orientation with Jessa (Match Support Specialist) going over rules, sigh paper and we're officially a big and little. Each of us got a certificate saying so. Scheduling 1st outing for upcoming Sunday and since she demand and I follow along we agreed on going to the Movie and watch Alice in the Wonderland. Jessa wasn't happy with that, I didn't know what to say, end up it been more that awkward situation.
I left the building with very mixed feelings...